Zion National Park (21.10.2013 – 22.10.2013)

Zion National Park was for sure the most adventurous park I visited so far. I arrived the same day I visited Bryce Canyon National Park during the afternoon.

IMG_6525_1

IMG_6528_1

IMG_6566_1

I wanted to do mainly 2 hiking tours and there was only one way to do it due to the time left. Since one of them takes almost the full day I started doing the “Angels Landing Trail”. This is a 8.7 km hike to the top of a rock from where you get to see the Zion Canyon. I had to hurry up since the hike is expected to take 4 hours and in the canyon it starts to get dark earlier than in a flat landscape. So I found me almost running up the trail encountering only people coming back from the summit.

IMG_6579_1

The last section is a route along a steep, narrow ridge to the summit along long drop-offs and not thought for children or people afraid of heights.

IMG_6665_1

IMG_6671_1

And those were the sights on the top of the rock over Zion Canyon.

IMG_6618_1

On the way back to the campground I took some more pictures of the ridge you have to climb in order to get to the top of the rock named Angels Landing.

IMG_6691_1

IMG_6702_1

The second day I went early in the morning renting the neopren shoes and trousers to do “The Narrows Trail”. You can do this trail without the equipment mentioned but at this time of the year when the water is 8°C it is recommended to wear it. Hiking The Narrows means hiking in the Virgin River along soaring walls, natural springs and sandstone grottos. At least 60 percent of the hike is spent wading, walking, and sometimes swimming in the river. There is no maintained trail because the route is the river. On the shuttle service to the starting point I met 3 australian guys and we sticked together during the whole day. Canyoneering The Narrows was an unforgettable wilderness experience for me which I will remember for a long time.

IMG_6744

IMG_6749

IMG_6757

IMG_6808

IMG_6825

IMG_6834

IMG_6869

IMG_6881

IMG_6883

IMG_6890

IMG_6950

 

Leave a Reply

